Unable to switch kernel version because of nvidia-utils

Hi,

I’m trying to update my Manjaro but when I run “pacman -Suuyy” I have the following error :

“installing nvidia-utils (495.46-3) breaks the “nvidia-utils=495.44” dependency required by linux513-nvidia”.

After some researches , I found that I’m currently running a Linux kernel which is EOF.

I’m using the 5.13.19-2 version of the Linux kernel.

When I try to downgrade/upgrade my kernel, I still face the same issue with the same error message.

What can I do to upgrade my kernel please ?

I’m kind of new to the Linux world, sorry if I’m not clear.

Thanks you in advance.

sudo mhwd-kernel -i linux515

Then reboot into 5.15 (Press Esc during boot to get into grub menu and boot with 5.15)
Double check your running kernel is not 5.13 then remove it:

uname -r #to check kernel version
sudo mhwd-kernel -r linux513
sudo pacman-mirrors --fasttrack 5 && sudo pacman -Syyu 

The issue is I still face this error message when running the “mhwd-kernel -i” command.

The package “nvidia-utils” is blocking my kernel update.

Hi @0xKera,

I think that’s normal. Kind of. I suspect you’ll have to do it from a chroot environment.

I haven’t had this problem in several years, but these steps should work:

1. Uninstall the nvidia driver, (it should uninstall nvidia-utils along with it)
  2. Install new kernel
  3. Uninstall unsupported 5.13 kernel
  4. Install nvidia driver.
  5. Reboot to start using the new kernel & nvidia driver.

Remember don’t do any rebooting until every step here has been completed successfully.

I suggest using Manjaro Settings Manager/hardware configuration tool to do it.

1 Like

Hi @Mirdarthos,

That what I was suspecting.

I’ve never done that before, do I need to know certains things beforehand ? Can I break my distro or can I loose any data ?

If I understand correctly, I need to boot from a LiveUSB Manjaro then chroot my env and finally update my kernel with the “mhwd-kernel” command ?