Unable to create and open MS Office documents

ms-office

I have some experience with Ubuntu/Debian and Fedora. I first tried Manjaro in a VM inside Ubuntu and loved it, so I turned it my primary OS. One thing I liked so much when testing Manjaro in a VM was the ms-office application. But now that Manjaro is my primary OS, it doesn’t work. This is the problem:

When I open an application (say, ms-word, but the same happens with the other MS applications) and try to open a new document, it says “unable to create new documents” (screenshot attached). But it works fine in the browser. Any idea why is this happening?

I just tested this from the KDE version and after signing in to my Microsoft account I was able to see and create documents. My screen does not look like yours however. Is that screenshot what you see when you are using the menu entry or in your web browser? Not sure if this helps but I noticed the difference.

I just tested it on xfce and face the same issue. One way to overcome it is with a dirty trick like uploading a docx file and having it open “automatically” at finish. It will then open the file properly and you can work on it.

To be honest, I’m not too fond about word online anyway. It seems to miss a lot of features.

This is off topic but might I suggest WPS office? It’s a shameless office clone but works perfect, supports 99.99% of native windows Word styling and layouts and produces 99.99% compatible documents that can be used on windows Word.

Only thing you need to do is to copy all ttf fonts from a windows with office box and install them in manjaro so it’s perfect with WPS.

the libreoffice vs onlyoffice vs wps vs msonline thing is a long and addled topic that has surprisingly been somewhat missing on the forums. I’m not yet sure where I stand besides encouraging folks to use what works.

Thankfully I’m out of the workforce and hopefully never have to use another proprietary document format for the rest of my days.