Ugly horizontal tearing / OpenGL compositing (the default) has crashed KWin in the past

Hello,

Yes, I am a Linux noob with 2 days old Manjaro install, pretty much clean (restored by Timeshift a few times and tried all kernels already).

I get a “OpenGL compositing (the default) has crashed KWin in the past.” error message within the KDE Plasma “Display and Monitor” settings, under the “Compositor” tab (see below) and I would like to ask your advice if I shall re-enable this “OpenGL detection” and adjust these settings or leave all this as it is? Most of teh tearing has been gone now (from the window edges) but I still have a few ugly tearing horizontal lines when scrolling long pages… :frowning:

I am with Nvidia RTX2070 and the proprietary Nvidia 450.66 driver and has followed the Nvidia settings guide given here in the forum by the admins and a pro contributor.

[x@x1 ~]$ inxi -Fazy
System:

Summary

Kernel: 5.8.6-1-MANJARO x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: N/A
parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/@/boot/vmlinuz-5.8-x86_64
root=UUID=9c1d4c92-4bc0-4b1c-b76d-3af88008f12e rw rootflags=subvol=@ quiet
apparmor=1 security=apparmor udev.log_priority=3
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.19.5 tk: Qt 5.15.0 wm: kwin_x11 dm: SDDM
Distro: Manjaro Linux
Machine:
Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: Z370M D3H v: N/A serial:
Mobo: Gigabyte model: Z370M D3H-CF v: x.x serial:
UEFI: American Megatrends v: F13 date: 08/13/2019
CPU:
Topology: 6-Core model: Intel Core i7-8700K bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Kaby Lake family: 6 model-id: 9E (158) stepping: A (10) microcode: D6
L2 cache: 12.0 MiB
flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx
bogomips: 88824
Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 800/4700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800 3: 800
4: 800 5: 801 6: 800 7: 800 8: 800 9: 800 10: 800 11: 800 12: 800
Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: KVM: VMX disabled
Type: l1tf
mitigation: PTE Inversion; VMX: conditional cache flushes, SMT vulnerable
Type: mds mitigation: Clear CPU buffers; SMT vulnerable