Tried installing KDE (dual Boot Windows) after having used XFCE for a few days. No boot drive found, please help

Hi, I usually don’t ask for help but it’s getting nowhere. I’m a Linux noob discovering a whole new world.

A few days ago, I followed this dual boot guide (forum manjaro org/t/root-tip-dual-boot-manjaro-and-windows/1164) (using Windows until I’m settled in a Linux distro) to install Manjaro XFCE as second OS without a problem. Only issues I ran into were a few minor problems I could fix relativily easily.

Today, I wanted to change things up and install KDE as I like to customise whatever is possible. I’ve read in another post that doing a clean install was the easiest way (I’ve also checked the Manjaro docu page about installing desktop environments).

I have 2 storage drives, an M.2 which I use for Windows, and a separate clean SSD for Linux, or at least partly.

The steps I took:

1. Go into BIOS to change my boot order and make Windows the priority again.

2. Boot into Windows and remove all partitions to make the SDD “clean” again.

3. Follow the guide I mentioned above again, but this time with KDE on the bootable.

4. Manually partitioned the drive as mentioned in the guide. Here I noticed that my SSD already had a small partition of approx 100MB, which I could not see in Windows Disk Manager.

5. Complete the steps from the guide (including the check for my bootorder).

6. My PC booted again in Windows, so I followed the additional steps.

7. Last resort, I followed the steps in this guide (archived forum manjaro org/t/using-livecd-v17-0-1-and-above-as-grub-to-boot-os-with-broken-bootloader/24916).

At this moment, after spending quite some hours to fix this after a long day at work, my hope is reaching out to people with experience with this OS.

If further information is needed, feel free to ask. All help is appreciated!

Steps I took the next day, guided by some redittors: