I'm a i3wm user and I love it but I'm bored and want to play with different DE. Usual recommendation is not to install several environments on one system to not to bloat it with different applications and some config files might go into conflict with each other. I've got it when I was using Ubuntu and I don't want to repeat it here. I try to keep my system clean so I thought about creating a new user account and do it there. My question is - when I install DE would it be available to all users? I want to keep it separately for every account. If I'll uninstall it later would it leave any unwanted traces in the system or on the disk? My main concern is to be able to go back to exactly the same state where I was before, after removing ED and deleting that additional user account.
PS. I don't want to use VM.