Stuck with a blinking cursor

Hi.
I'm having an issue with the official Manjaro installer (Gnome).
I was trying to install it on my system, I've created the USB installation drive using Rufus.
It booted up, but after a few seconds, the installation froze.
Here is a video that shows the issue:

My specs are
-MSI x399 gaming pro carbon
-AMD Treadripper 1950x
-Nvidia Geforce RTX 2060 super
-32 GB of DDR4 ram

I'm quite sure that the USB drive is working. I tried to use it with another PC, and it worked fine on it.
I'm not the first who has this problem, but none of the other threads helped me.
Do you have any suggestion?

P.S.
I'm quite new to Linux, and my English is not the best, since it's not my main language. So please, forgive my inaccuracy.

Use Rufus in DD mode only.

First adopters always suffer - I am not aware which generation your hardware is - it looks quite new to me :slight_smile: .

Using the latest version of Rufus, it's no longer possible to select the DD mode. I've tried with a previous version too, making sure I was using DD, but unfortunately it didn't fix the problem.

Yes, my gpu is from the latest Nvidia series.
The cpu, on the other hand, is from the first Ryzen series.

The developer of Rufus is using an ISO pattern recognition to automatically use dd mode when a Manjaro ISO is detected.

Search the forum for rufus to find the actual post.

1 Like

Great! :smiley:
I already heard about that, but I wasn't 100% sure.

The Manjaro ISO's typically ship with the latest LTS kernel (at this time 4.19.x series).
The RTX 2060 like the RTX 2070 require a 5.x series kernel to use the built in nouveau drivers.
With the non-free drivers, a minimum of the 430.34 version of driver is required.

What version of the Manjaro ISO are you using?
(desktop type and release version number)

2 Likes

If I use the free drivers, my screen starts glitching. In fact, I used the non-free drivers in the video.