Stuck at login screen after entering password

Hello,

I am a noob in Linux, i used it a long time ago in my programming school, but i mainly used bash for exercise and stuff. I didn’t do much more.

I still got that pc from school that i use almost everyday to watch series and stuff. Recently i tried to boot as usual and connected but the screen froze. Since then i am not able to boot on this computer.
The computer boot fines, when i get to the user login screen, if i fail the password, everything works fine too. But when i enter the right password the computer just freeze and won’t boot the session.

I looked for a solution but i’m still stuck. So far i managed to press E in grub and replace ‘quiet’ by ‘3’. I can login using my login and password, it boots in bash and i can travel throught the files.
I also tried booting ‘quiet s’ and check /etc/pam.d but i could not find any .pacnew in it.

I really need help i can’t do anything anymore :confused:

I assume you have seen the threads like this?

I see you got to runlevel 3 … but maybe check trying to start the desktop, or for failed services.

I looked for specifix thread so i didn’t see this one but in another thread i had the pacman -Syuu command but when i run it it says “error: failed retrieving file ‘multilib.db’ from XXXXXXX : Could not resolve host: xxxxxx”

I guess my computer is not connected to my internet box anymore but idk how to fix that with bash…

We dont know that for sure … runlevel 3 allows networking.
(you could check a few ways… ip a or ping 8.8.8.8 etc)
You might just need to sort your mirrors:

sudo pacman-mirrors -g && sudo pacman -Syyu

Well i runned the pacman-mirrors command with -f3 and -g.
Didn’t fix my problem.
But as i said i can’t run pacman -Syyu.
How can i check my network?

But you didnt say you ran that.
You said you ran -Syuu (so please make sure to run with 2 y’s instead … also you should have been able to see when sorting mirrors if none of them were responsive)