Still not clear on orphan handling

I’m using 20 cinnamon and as I’ve been saying, I am a noob to Manjaro. Mint, yep I have used it for years.

I’m not clear on the handling of orphans in Manjaro. In Mint, Ubuntu, etc. if I wanted to do away with residual files I would do something like sudo aptitude purge ~c.

When I look at the manjaro add/remove orphans page it seems like I could be removing dependencies installed as a dependency for another package. Example cups-pdf is showing as an orphan but if I remove it am I also removing any cups printer support. A qt5 configuration utility is the same.

I have about twenty such files.

I really don’t want to crash this install. It has been years since I had to learn new things and I remember back then that learning new things did at times lead to reinstalling a distro.

I searched the forum and didn’t really see anything that was a clear cut answer.

Removing orphans is pretty safe using Pamac (Add/Remove Software)

In App Prefernces -> Advanced tab -> ensure remove unrequired dependencies is unchecked

Open the app -> in headerbar click Installed -> in sidebar click Orphans -> click remove all

Verify the list - if your list contains unexpected packages - recheck your requirements before continuing…

When the process is complete you may get other packages listed - just continue Remove all until the list is empty.

I am a console guy - but this is by far the easiest way to do what you request - and yes accidents happen - but this particular function - I have never had an issue with it…

2 Likes

I am also curious about the answer to @urdrwho:s question, even though I have never had any problems removing all orphans using the steps you provided. Can you explain the following step though?

What does unexpected packages and recheck your requirements mean here?

This setting is the default, I believe, correct? I can’t remember ever having touched that setting and it was off/unchecked for me…