Missing dependencies?

Hi all.
I’ve been using Mint for about 6-7 years (mostly relying on the UI), but recently switched to Manjaro.
I’m trying to compile an app (darktable) from source, and am running into an issue where CMake is throwing errors like this:

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:418 (message):
Some external programs couldn’t be found

…which is not particularly helpful. Which ones couldn’t it find?

Scrolling back up through the CLI output, I found:
– Missing intltool-merge
and
– Missing jsonschema, problems in noiseprofiles.json might go unnoticed

Would someone be kind enough to explain how to install these apps/dependencies please?
Thanks in advance.

Maybe you are missing the requirements for using the AUR?

Ah … from source. Still … not sure why you need to do this instead of the AUR or using a PKGBUILD as would normally be the case. Still the above packages do cover most of what is needed to ‘build from source’.
Further requirements for anything done manually should look to the requisite documentation.
If necessary to find files provided by packages you can use something like

sudo pacman -Fyx 'some/path/or/file.so'

Darktable looks to be available from the Stable repository, without needing to build, if that’s an option for you.

There is also a snap package available;

I hope this is helpful. Cheers.

2 Likes

cscs,

The reason for wanting to compile from source is that I produce youtube videos about using darktable.
Each stable release of dt has an even number eg 4.0, 4.2, 4.4, etc, and the development cycle in between each stable release carries the odd numbers… 4.1, 4.3, 4.5, etc
So the current 4.5 build will eventually become stable release 4.6 (due in the next 72 hours or so).
I used to have this all set up, but due to “life”, I don’t any more, and I would like to get back to running the dev version. It helps me to a) be on the front foot with new features, and b) be able to more quickly produce new video content after a stable release.