Spyder freezes at 100% cpu

Hi, i’m new to manjaro (i have some years of experience in ubuntu, etc) an ran into a problem: spyder does start with the usual look, but is completely unresponsive. It uses 100% cpu on one core. I installed spyder with:

sudo pacman -Syyu
sudo pacman -Syu spyder
sudo pacman -Syu python-appdirs

python-appdirs was necessary because of a missing dependency. After starting i only get one warning:

$ spyder
fromIccProfile: failed minimal tag size sanity

i read a lot in this forum, but found nothing, which seems similar. Thank you for this great OS!

I agree with your findings.

The “fromIccProfile” message is just informational.

The Brief

When installed via pacman spyder consumes 100% of a cpu and is unresponsive. spyder is 5.4.1.

I uninstalled via pacman and reinstalled via pip and spyder worked. spyder is 5.4.2.

Details

I know of spyder, but don’t use it. I brought up a current XFCE VM and installed spyder 5.4.1 via pacman.When I ran spyder from the command line, it failed because it requires python-appdirs, which I see you installed :slight_smile: Probably should be a package dependency :question:

I started spyder from the command line again, and observed:

• used 100% of a cpu (htop)
  • window moves, but menu and all other controls unresponsive
  • when closed via the window title bar close button, a dialog box is displayed with the message, “This window might be busy and is not responding”.

I reviewed the following:

There is a 5.4.2 release, dated Jan 18. I thought I’d try it and see how things went. Perhaps should be marked outdated at arch :question:

pacman

To install a package, the command is: pacman -S spyder as root. Note: if you ever use pamac, the install is executed using your normal user id because it is handled via pamac, specifically policy-kit.