Some questions

Hi i'm a newbie to the linux world, i want a distro that respects user privacy, i really like manjaro (KDE) but i have some doubts:

Does manjaro collect private data of the users and if yes what data?

How solid is this distro?

Can i get a virus if i download apps from the official manjaro repositories or i can download everything without worrying?

Sorry for my bad english

Welcome aboard,

As far as I can tell Manjaro does not actively collect any data. I can't speak to the unstable build, but both stable and testing are rock solid. Yes like with any OS rather linux, Windows, OSX you will run across issues, but typically in Manjaro they are relatively quickly addressed and fixed. As for getting a virus, trojan, or malware sure it's possible but EXTREMELY unlikely. As for safty of downloading through the repositories you should be pretty much safe. With the exception of 3 or 4 items all my software was downloaded through the GUI version of the software / update manager. Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Thank you for clarifying now my only concern is privacy because i didn't found anything regarding privacy on manjaro.

I can't provide any documentation or claim to know for certain, but I can point to the fact that the Linux core, and most of the applications you will be using are open source. That means anything dubious is there in plain view and can't be hidden. For closed source applications this is not the case of course. This makes me feel fairly safe. Now, what web sites do is another matter altogether, and I rely on Firefox with NoScript, uBlock Origin and Privacy Badger :slight_smile:

1 Like

This is a basic overview, mentioning data control philosophy:
https://manjaro.org/features/under-your-control/
Also, the terms of use:
https://manjaro.org/terms-of-use/

Welcome. Honest opinion from another newcomer,