Installing a Quivi Image Viewer

Hi guys,

I’m new to Linux (about 8 hours old) and I can’t figure out how to install a program called Quivi. It’s got 2 versions a .deb package and a source one. I tried to install it by converting the deb package to an arch package using debtap, and I was able to install it but it doesn’t open. I really want this program since I love how it does its file navigation.

So I got some questions:
-Would it be possible to create an arch package using the source version and how hard would it be for a beginner?
-Is converting the .deb package viable for this type of program? If so how would you guys convert it?

Thanks

http://quivi.sourceforge.net/download.en.html

It is a 10+ years old Python program that I think you’ll have issues to have to run on Manjaro (because of its code, and the required Python version, because of its required libraries, things like that).
In this case I would use the Windows version, that may be an unpopular opinion but I think it is the easiest way.

Make sure you have WINE (a compatibility layer that can run Windows applications on Linux systems) installed from Pamac Manager, then download the Windows edition for Quivi, you can choose the installer and directly install it, or the zip file, extract it somewhere, and simply run the executable. Using the installer will add it to your real application menu, despite the application being installed as a Windows program in WINE.

I would recommend to look for other similar up to date tools though, available from the official Manjaro repositories, or the AUR.

PS: what can you like in this tool? It is horrible in my opinion. Feels very Windows 98.

If I compare it to Gwenview which comes pre installed on my KDE installation, I can do the same and more, in a nice interface I can customize. Pretty sure all other Manjaro desktops have their default image viewer that can do the same. And pretty sure you can find many more tools…