[Solved] How to dual boot Windows 10 (installed in Legacy mode) with Manjaro KDE?

Hello all ! Hope you are all doing great!

I am new to Manjaro. I have a laptop with windows 10 installed (in legacy mode). I have managed 100GB space for manjaro KDE installation purpose. I have tried manual partitioning like this:
/boot = 500MB
swap = 8GB
/ = rest of the space.

if i click next during installation - installer says manjaro need /boot/efi partition with FAT32 format and boot ,esp flags selected for proper boot.So, if I do that - will it create problem like missing windows 10 in grub loader problems? If so, what are the proper steps to install manjaro with windows 10(which is installed in leagacy mode/ mbr) dual boot capability?

I have searched many forums. But could not find proper solution and got confused.
Thanks in advance.
[Sorry for my poor english. :stuck_out_tongue: ]

Best regards-
Nazmul Hossain

You should be fine.

Granted they had a USB involved. I would probably just change your /boot partition to 128mb and make that the /boot/efi partition.

You have to boot the installation media in MSDOS/Legacy mode.

Thanks for your response.
So, you are saying that if i do install normally with /boot/efi = 128MB partition, i will be able dual boot my system with no problem? Grub will pick up windows in it’s list?

If so- then i will sure install manjaro .
[I just want to make sure before installation :stuck_out_tongue: ]

I tried that. but problem is my bios loads the usb installation media in uefi mode. :slight_smile:

I make no promises, it should work, but as a programmer I don’t trust that anything will work until after it works.

I understand. Many thanks for your advice. :smile:

Launch the boot selection menu of your machine, look in the manual for shortcut, or try several Fx buttons, like F5, F8 etc. There should be two entries for the same media, one for UEFI, one for Legacy. Or set your BIOS to only use Legacy.