Regional Settings

Hello, I’m new to Linux in general. I’m switching from Windows 10. I looked over Linux distros and chose Manjaro with KDE plasma. So far, I like it, looks very configurable OS, however I don’t know it well and I have few problems how to configure it like I want.

My first problem is system language: I live in Georgia, so I chose Georgia location and if I go to system settings, formats and region, it’s Georgia, however whole system language also changed to Georgian language which I don’t want. I want system language to be English, but at the same time have Georgia in region settings. How do I do that? Right now, I changed region to “Default C”, it changed system language to English, but I guess my real region isn’t set to Georgia. So, how do I set region to Georgia but keep OS language in English?

Keep your locale settings from system settings to Georgia.

Then sudo nano /etc/locale.conf and update the first LANG and Lanugage field to en_US.UTF-8, example LANG=en_US.UTF-8. Keep the other fields since the rests are for Georgia.

Reboot afterward.

1 Like

I pasted it in terminal, but I think it says bad pattern or something:

~ > ^[[200~sudo nano /etc/locale.conf ~
[200~sudo nano /etc/locale.conf ~zsh: bad pattern: ^[[200~sudo

Make sure you’re precise at copying the text within the preformatted region.

Anyway I provide the unformatted command below:

sudo nano /etc/locale.conf

Or just type manually the command.

I did, but now terminal gave me list, but I don’t know what to do:

LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_ADDRESS=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_IDENTIFICATION=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_NAME=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_PAPER=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_TELEPHONE=ka_GE.UTF-8
LC_TIME=ka_GE.UTF-8

Also, as you see first thing “LANG=en_US.UTF-8” is in English, but menus are still in Georgian, even terminal menus, also it’s not finished work as I see, for example some menus are still English.