Realtek RTL8168 may not successfully establish connection again after hibernation

Hello, I'm new to Manjaro. I've found that sometimes my computer just can't successfully connect to the Internet again. I wonder whether it's caused by the free driver or not. And the most importantly, how to fix it? Thanks for your patience.

As the screenshot shows, the connection status stays "Connecting" after a wake up from hibernation (NOT SUSPEND TO RAM)

Here's information from mhwd -lh -d --pci

<pre>07: PCI 300.0: 0200 Ethernet controller
  SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.2/0000:03:00.0
  SysFS BusID: 0000:03:00.0
  Hardware Class: network
  Model: &quot;Gigabyte Onboard Ethernet&quot;
  Vendor: pci 0x10ec &quot;Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.&quot;
  Device: pci 0x8168 &quot;RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller&quot;
  SubVendor: pci 0x1458 &quot;Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd&quot;
  SubDevice: pci 0xe000 &quot;Onboard Ethernet&quot;
  Revision: 0x0c
  Driver: &quot;r8168&quot;
  Driver Modules: &quot;r8168&quot;
  Device File: enp3s0
  I/O Ports: 0xd000-0xd0ff (rw)
  Memory Range: 0xf7200000-0xf7200fff (rw,non-prefetchable)
  Memory Range: 0xf2100000-0xf2103fff (ro,non-prefetchable)
  IRQ: 35 (197499 events)
  HW Address: fc:aa:14:c8:b5:ce
  Permanent HW Address: fc:aa:14:c8:b5:ce
  Link detected: yes
  Module Alias: &quot;pci:v000010ECd00008168sv00001458sd0000E000bc02sc00i00&quot;
  Driver Info #0:
    Driver Status: r8169 is not active
    Driver Activation Cmd: &quot;modprobe r8169&quot;
  Driver Info #1:
    Driver Status: r8168 is active
    Driver Activation Cmd: &quot;modprobe r8168&quot;
  Attached to: #25 (PCI bridge)
</pre>

Thanks again.

Open the Manjaro-Settings-Manager and click on Hardware. Delete r8168 with it and the more stable r8169 driver will be removed from the blacklist and used after reboot. Restart the system and check if it is better.

3 Likes

@admdb has already pointed out the solution

A little background: