Interested in Manjaro Repos

Hi everybody.
This is my first post and I hope I am welcome here.
I am new to the Linux world in general. (used some other for a few days long time ago)

I am interested in Arch based distros. So, currently I am just a few days on EndeavourOS but I thought I should try Manjaro for stability.

I am using just very basic apps (Google chrome for browsing, maybe I will install Libreoffice).

As I prefer a rolling release, I wonder if it is possible to change my EndeavourOS repos to be Manjaro repos?
Would this create any conflict.

How to do it without making a fresh Manjaro install if possible! (I think I would be using Manjaro then anyway.)

Your help much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Welcome !

…so, what do you loose with a fresh install - not much, I guess. Store your private data (in every case, doesn’t matter on how you want to proceed from here), or even better, do you have a seperate home partition ?

While it is theoretically possible to do, I would not recommend it for a new user. But here you are:

Edit: This post is from july 2019 . So, pacman.conf , grub , linux53 are no longer valid and need to be changed !

Be prepared for hiccups, endevour has overlays, manjaro has even more of them. Your confgs might not work as they should.
Back to your (hopefully existing) seperate home partition. Keeping it untouched (do not format), or transferring it to a data partion, that would make things much easier.

4 Likes

this would be a troublesome endeavor, it would be much much less work to reinstall, even if it is possible to go from Manjaro to EOS, the way EOS to Manjaro is way more difficult when not impossible.