[Question] File Access

Hey, so I recently installed Nginx on my machine, to basically let me have a mess around with some web dev in my free time.

However I’m still in the learning process of getting used to Linux too, so I’m trying to get files copied and pasted into the directory “usr/share/nginx/html” and its saying I don’t have the permission.

I’m trying to do this via pcmanfm and not terminal since I have no idea how to do it any of the two ways honestly. Also I’m wondering if there is a way for me to stop needing a password every time I edit one of these files to save them?

Or is it best to keep the password for these files? I’m honestly not sure as I’m still new to this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:
Thanks
~Blood

The /usr hierarchy is only writable to the root user, not to unprivileged user accounts. If you don’t know what you’re doing, then it’s best to never touch that directory hierarchy anyway. User-owned files should always go under /home, and more specifically, under the user’s own home directory.

For all intents and purposes ─ and especially if you’re a newbie ─ the only thing that should be allowed to write anything under /usr is your package manager.

In theory, the answer would be “yes”, but it requires tinkering with the authentication system, and quite frankly, if you need to ask, then you’re the wrong kind of person to want to do this. As the matter of fact nobody should be doing that, because UNIX systems are designed to be secure multiuser systems, which is why authentication is important.