Just wanted to show my love for Manjaro XFCE!

Hi all,

I’ve been using Manjaro XFCE for nearly two months now and after having tweaked it quite a bit, I finally got everything set up the way I want.

I’ve set up VS Codium with a beautiful theme that matches the matcha sea green. It greets me when I open up with bpytop from the xfce terminal (I also have alacritty for use with Vim).

I set up Vim extensions everywhere (Vimium in the browser, Vim in Codium).

I set up keyboard shortcuts so XFCE can act sort of like a TWM (vim navigation keys snap windows to edges of screen and keyboard bindings for nearly all my programs all accessed with the Super Key + first letter of program…and yes, Super+Enter gives me the Terminal Emulator) (and I just discovered it comes prepackaged with i3 as well, which I have yet to play around with, but will).

For some security, I’ve got protonvpn set up as well as ufw (I’ll get around to learning iptables).

For more basic text editing, I like vim, but I’ve also got micro which is like nano but better imho.

For browsing, I’ve downloaded and hardened Librewolf for general browsing and also have Firefox Developer Edition as I learn how to code JavaScript (both Librewolf and Firefox have Manjaro matcha dark sea theme installed as well). And also I have the Tor Browser if I ever need to see what I wish I could unsee…

I have Irssi for chat, but almost never use it honestly.

I also like to make comics from time to time, so I also have Krita, Inkscape, and Gimp. These programs have happily allowed me to relieve myself of that unnecessarily expensive Adobe subscription…

I was able to even install thinkorswim for stock trading (don’t really do much of it, but it was nice to see it works!). Even my scanner works (gotta love iscan) and my wacom tablet worked out of the box!