Won't Accept Login Password Even After Reset

Hello all, I’m fairly new to Linux so please bear with me. I’ve been using Manjaro with no issues until today, I’ve been away and I haven’t logged on for awhile and I ran updates for all my programs. They completed successfully and that’s the only thing that’s changed recently. Later I reboot my computer, I have Howdy face recognition installed; it recognized my face, but won’t log me in. I try to input my password the usual way, and it says password is incorrect. I know for a fact I’m putting in the right password, I tested the keyboard input in another field and it is typing correctly. After searching I attempted to reset both my user and root password to something simple (abc) from Grub using the init=/bin/bash method; it says successfully changed, but still does not accept it, password incorrect.

Is this related to the updates? It was a large amount of packages. I know it said a kernel update was available, is this a known issue? Is there an alternative way to login or reset a password? I’ve read about deleting .Xauthority but I’m not sure how to without being able to login. Any help would be appreciated; as I said I’m fairly new, I’m picking it up but I might need to be walked through any commands. I’ll try to provide any information needed that I can get without logging in.

Thanks!

Hello, how long exactly did you not update your system?

Probably 4 months or so. After that I’d been using it on and off usually without internet with no login issues, up until 2 weeks ago. Then I came back, logged in no problem, updated, and couldn’t log in next reboot.

If it’s relevant, the WiFi is pretty spotty here, so it lost connection several times during updates, but always resumed when it regained connection, it just took a few hours so I didn’t think anything of it.