I don't get it! What's the correct approach for starting VSCode (with sudo / chown)

Hi folks,

i hope so much that someone can give me some enlightment on this:

I’m new to Manjaro and but used to Linux (Ubuntu, Mint) but still far from being very good with it. So i now want to use VSCode on Manjaro and managed to install it (via the software installation tool, so i took the official community version code-oss.)
Everything worked fine.
But when I opened it I could not even create a file because of user rights.

So when I searched the internet for a solution, it to me became clear that i can solve this running vscode via sudo, which is not recommended, or when I change the user-rights using chown.
Which I did. This way I can create and edit (+ save) files, but still i can’t install any extension (in my case the extension metals for improved workflow in coding with scala) and similar works done. For example, metals wants to install a certain java environment for which user rights are missing (no permission…).
Which works when I run vscode using sudo.

So my question is (to which I could not find a good answer when searching the web for it):

What is the recommended way to do it? In other words: what should be the standard procedure when installing and working with vscode?
Change all user rights to the currently used user?
(program binary + program folder + all repositories and code that i’m working on)

How do you guys do it? What’s the intended way to go in such situations. I don’t seem to really have understood the linux / unix way of doing things concerning user rights.

I know I should avoid running applications as sudo if not necessary. But if i have to create and change files all the time, switch between repositories (which normally have all permissions set to “root” by default), what’s the way to go?