Problem running script using systemd service

Hi!

First, I’m still pretty new to using linux in general and to bash scripting, so apologies for any obvious mistakes I’ve made here.

I have installed kdocker and I use it to keep an instance of firefox running in the system tray. There are a couple of reasons I do this, but it’s mostly a convenient way to avoid having to re-log into bitwarden every time I close the browser without having to set my vault timeout to “never.” I have actually set kdocker and firefox to autostart like this. However, whenever I reboot the system, kdocker causes it to hang and I have to wait for an extra 2 minutes for a stop job to run.

I wanted to avoid having to manually exit out of kdocker before I do a reboot, so I wrote this very basic kill_kdocker.sh bash script.

#!/bin/bash

killall kdocker

and I’ve placed it in /usr/local/sbin

After reading up a bit about systemd services, I then attempted to create the following “killkdocker.service” systemd service that would run the script before a reboot or shutdown occurs.

[Unit]
Description=Kill kdocker before reboot
Before=reboot.target

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/usr/local/sbin/kill_kdocker.sh
StandardOutput=journal

[Install]
WantedBy=reboot.target

I can enable the service with systemctl enable killkdocker.service, but when I run systemctl start killkdocker.service, the killall kdocker command in my script runs immediately instead of waiting until a reboot starts. So kdocker is immediately terminated.

When I run systemctl status killkdocker.service I get the following output:

● kdockerkill.service - Kill kdocker before reboot
Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/kdockerkill.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
Active: inactive (dead)