Problem entering S3 state

I’ve been using Manjaro for a few months now, and everything is working well, except when I try to suspend to RAM (S3 sleep state). Sometimes it will work exactly as it should, but about half the time it will fail to sleep. Once it has failed to sleep, any future attempts to sleep will also not work, and various systems (such as networking) will be disabled or non-functional. My only option at that point is to reboot, and then try again and hope it will succeed.

I’ve noticed a few things when the system fails to sleep, but they may be unrelated to the problem. The first is that I see a message that it was unable to unmount some of my mounted SMB shares. This message, along with the unpredictability of the sleep failure, led me to be believe the problem was a race condition related to the networking shutting down before the SMB shares could unmount. However, I’ve manually unmounted the SMB shares before sleeping, and the problem can still occur, so I think this may be a dead end.

The other thing I’ve noticed is that once it’s failed to sleep, the system is actually still trying to sleep. For example, if I attempt a shutdown or reboot once it fails, the system will at some point actually go into the S3 state. However, once I power back up from this state, after some time passes (~60 to 90 seconds or so) the system will shutdown/restart (whichever I told it to do). It’s as if the sleep is “queued” but it doesn’t get there until whatever is preventing it from sleeping finally gets terminated during shut down. Once that is out of the way, it enters sleep even though it’s in the middle of shutdown, and then when powering back up it simply resumes shutting down.

Finally, some things always happen when I try to enter sleep, regardless of if it actually gets there or not. For example, my monitor will always blank when I attempt to enter sleep.