Partitoning suggestions for dual NVMe

Hi,

I would appreciate a few pointers on choosing an appropriate partitioning scheme on my new laptop (clevo pc50dd2). I have been a linux user for some 4 years now and I have done manual partition schemes and installer based partitioning schemes on previous centos and fedora installations. I have always used ext4 and lvm in the past.

I have 2 NVMe disks installed (Samsung 970-evo and WD SN550). This is the first laptop I’ve had where I’m purely NVMe.

I’ve seen the phronix reports about performance differences for f2fs c.f. other filesystems (XFS / EXT4 / Btrfs / F2FS / NILFS2 Performance On Linux 5.8 - Phoronix). I’ve also seen some articles talking about the unreliability of f2fs v2 ext4. I want to go with f2fs as I’m now purely NVMe, but I’m concerned about the supposed unreliability

I don’t have extreme use cases. I’m a developer and will mainly be running several vms. I could just continue using the tried and tested ext4, but I do (sometimes) like to try something new! From what I can make out, Btrfs would not be the best choice for NVMe.

TIA

Well, I can tell you how I have setup my system. I run VMs, audio and video editing of all sorts and web authoring. What I have learned is that if you are running Virt-Manager for VM’s (Which I highly recommend), you need to have a separate partition for /var, virt-manager stores the VMs in /var/lib.
The home partition, IMHO, should always be on a separate drive. Also, the root directory should be at least 50Gb.

EXAMPLE:
/boot/efi  (drive 1, partition 1)
/          (drive 1, partition 2)
/var       (drive 1, partition 3)
/home      (drive 2, partition 1)

Number one reason to have /home on a separate drive is in case of system corruption. You can reinstall the OS without formating the /home directory and you are back in business.

For backup, I use Timeshift for the system back up and BackInTime for the user directory.