Plex Media Player for Manjaro ARM

I'm new to Manjaro arm so, don't be harsh on me.
I'm using Manjaro ARM on Rpi 4. I've installed Manjaro kde few days ago to check usb booting and , guys, THANK YOU. Manjaro kde is working on rpi4 so smooth, man can believe full 64 os experience on this small device.
So, to the subject. I have plex media server on xpenology using on all my home devices and sharing with several friends. On Raspbian I'm using Kodi with plex add-on and everything plays with no transcoding on the server side. On Manjaro ARM I'm using plex-mpv-shim installed with the help of the author (Thanks iwalton3). Surprisingly it's working very good. Even it can play some hevc 10 bit files ( not all) without hw acc (system use 100%).
So my question is : has anybody find a way to tweak mpv to use hardware decoding on manjaro arm? And I know the 32 bit drivers are out of business here. Waiting for 64 bit platform from Raspbian is one of options but it might take too long.
P.S.
Please don't tell me to dual boot to Libreelec, I have that.

1 Like

Any Plex users on Manjaro ARM?

It is good practice to cover one issue per topic

The program pkgbuild don't have aarch64 in arch=() array and need to be added there

Comment from mpv-rpi AUR pkgbuild:

[...] you need the newest ffmpeg-git (for mmal, built like ffmpeg-mmal)

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/mpv-rpi/#pinned-731334

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=266123&p=1618765#p1618765

ffmpeg-mmal and mpv-rpi in AUR are for 32bit OS only as 64 bit OS does not support hardware decoding yet or MMAL. Even if it did it will not work using mesa's V3D like we have as it uses llvmpipe (framebuffer mode).