Perl6 installation saga

aur
makepkg
perl

Perl6 installation is not easy

Purpose

The purpose in writing this is not only to get practical help but to leave some sort of record for others who are curious to try out the fallen Practical Extraction and Reporting Language ("Perl") on Manjaro. I have searched several of the forums on the site and it was my conclusion that this is a new topic, but if I am mistaken I humbly apologize.

Narrative

My first resort was simply to try sudo pacman -S perl6, but obviously it doesn't work (yet). I then attempted to follow the instructions on Perl's website to compile and build the stuff from source, but no dice. Is it obvious I'm new at this?

What I finally did today was attempt to do it from the AUR, which hosts a repo named rakudo-star. This was actually my first experience cloning from an AUR repo, or using the git command with any repo not on github for that matter. So far so good.

I made a mistake by attempting to download the source code into /usr/src, a folder I made to store tools I compiled from source myself, because I didn't want them sitting in my home folder. Before I get yelled at I would just like to point out that this does not violate any of the FHS precepts that I saw. But it was a mistake to do this because the makepkg command may not run as root, and obviously any changes to anything in /usr need to be done with root privileges. I attempted to simply move the whole folder into home, but having cloned the files into root I as a user did not have the right to write to the individual files and subdirectories created therein.

I started fresh and re-cloned rakudo-star into ~/perl6. What follows is a result of either shortcomings of the dependency resolution mechanism used by AUR, undocumented dependencies in the repos, or shortcomings of my own threadbare understanding of what I'm doing.