PC doesn't boot without installation media

I've installed Manjaro KDE cleanly on an UEFI PC with a SSD. The problem is that after installing it, which went flawlessly, it just doesn't boot after rebooting without the USB drive plugged in. If I plug it back in and reboot once again it will boot but veeery slowly, it takes like 5 minutes to boot but once it does it runs extremely well.

Could anyone help me with this please?

I'm no expert on boot issues but that kind of sounds like you might have installed grub to your live boot flashdrive by mistake.

1 Like

First, is your SSD internal drive?
Second.." it just doesn't boot after rebooting without the USB drive plugged in." Do you mean the install usb? If you mean that, I think you did not install in uefi or that your $esp is not in SSD.

Never mind, provide at Manjaro terminal

sudo parted -l
sudo blkid
cat /etc/fstab
test -d /sys/firmware/efi && echo UEFI || echo BIOS
efibootmgr -v

'parted -l' --> small 'L', not 'one' ; information of all disks, do not omit, do not truncate.
Of course do not modify (Some have :astonished:)

@petsam, you may need to look for another partner.
But if they fix intel-ucode (to kernel) and prevent uefi installation to msdos, you and I can retire.
As they say, the best government is a boring government, the best OS is a boring one.

2 Likes

Yes, it is an internal SSD. I don't know how to format the text so it looks good but here is the result of all those commands.

sudo parted -l
Model: ATA KINGSTON SA400S3 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 120GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End    Size   File system  Name  Flags
 1      2097kB  317MB  315MB  fat32              boot, esp
 2      317MB   120GB  120GB  ext4

Model: TDKMedia Trans-It Drive (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 7732MB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags