PBP: microSD and NVMe questions

I tried Manjaro after not understanding enough about building Armbian. I am new to both. Been around Linux since 1.2.13 came out. Been around UN*X since 1984.

I have a 1TB NVMe SSD (Intel 660p ?) in the PBP (Pinebook Pro) that I eventually want to use as the device/partition that is my root filesystem. I am not in a hurry.

The biggest annoyance has been the USB/ethernet dongle that I got with my Pinebook Pro. I gather it is going into suspend mode to save energy, and never comes back. I've tried blacklisting in /etc/default/tlp, in /etc/udev/rules.d and both. I've called the product a 8152 and a 8153 (and had rules for both), and while I can get the ethernet to stay up longer, it does eventually die. Someone created a bash script to toggle some command states which I used for the most part. It makes use of the nmcli (?) command. To run the script, it never returns to a prompt. Appears to hang on the nmcli command. I've never used the nmcli command and never looked for a man page.

But for the moment, if I boot, I can use the ethernet enough to do some things like install or update software.

I can understand that not everyone like emacs, but there are times where the psychoanalyst is needed. Emacs is not perfect, I have never run across emacs doing coffee properly. :slight_smile:

No vi/vim surprised me.

I have done some package addition/update, and had the machine refuse to boot, so I started again. I have also done an update, and I am hoping things boot.

Being a dinosaur, I like to use multiple partitions to compartmentalize problems. On my NVMe, I have /, /tmp, /usr, /usr/local, /var, /var/log and /home. I've been using rsync to keep the NVMe in sync with the microSD (64GB, so lots of room for now).