Partitioning in manjaro KDE Plasma

I’m currently using Windows 10 because of some games and apps but I’d like to use Manjaro KDE. I have some experience with an old PC that I use to experimet. What I wanna ask is how to make my partitioning so only the OS (manjaro) and few games/apps to be in my ssd(250gb kingston) and the rest to be in my HDD (2tb WD Black). Basically home to be in my hdd but I can still download apps in my ssd. I hope you can understand what i want to say. I’m not sure how exactly to ask this question.

PC:
i5 6500
gtx 1060 6gb
16gb RAM 2133mhz

Hello @terola53 :wink:

When installing, do a manual partitioning:

I assume you have an UEFI.

SSD:

1. partition: 300MB FAT32
    mountpoint: /boot/efi
    flag: boot
  2. partition: everything EXT4
    mountpoint: /
    flag: none

HDD:

1. partition: everything EXT4
    mountpoint: /home
    flag: none
1 Like

So my ssd will be the root and hdd home right? :smiley:

I’ve just tried it and it’s not what I was looking for. Thank you for the answer tho😄

No idea what you expect then… maybe a “Eierlegende Wollmilchsau” (Egg Laying Woll Milking Sow)?

:joy:

I suggest you throw everything on the SSD first. Then once it’s full, you’ll know exactly what directories you do not need on the SSD. Fix this at that point. 256G is plenty for a base install and a couple big games. If the games are through steam, you can create multiple game installation folders and move them between that.

Your HDD should be for stuff that you want to store for later. If you find that the data you put on that HDD is important and not just a bunch of downloads, get a second HDD and set that up as a mirror of the original HDD incase it fails. Get a dropbox account or whatever and upload your important files there.