Pamac change " enter a selection " to "enter a selection seperated by commas"

when choosing optional dependencies in pamac it shows

Enter a selection (default=none):

The first thing i tried is

Enter a selection (default=none): 1 3

but it prompted me again so i tried

Enter a selection (default=none): 1,3

I think enter a selection (separated by commas) would make it little bit user friendly

change has to be done in line 2425

I tried to fork it and send a merge request but got “You must have permission to create a project in a group before forking.” . How do i fork it ? Sorry, I’m a noob when it comes to GitLab and my google search results aren’t very helpful. Maybe some of you can send a merge request i guess or should i create an issue in GitLab?

1 Like

For me the issue is already described in the quoted part: I am talking not about exact delimiter symbol, but about the comment content:

Instead of making secrets with short text

and to leave user to guess about delimiter symbol each app prefer,

better just to note it right there:

Enter a selection list via comma/space/whatever (default=none):

to make it absolutely clear without wasting a user time on tries where that tries should not be. better to save user efforts on googling their issues and to report bugs than to make them uncomfortable every typical step to make.

Also not selection, but selection list to make them able to understand about multiple choice selection ability.

To devs: please expose / show / advertise great functionality of an app (any app), do not hide it from user.

1 Like

for me, for resolve this issue, best is to accept several formats

1 2 3
1, 2, 3
1,2, 3

manjaro gitlab is “readonly”, users can only create issue but not fork
You can create an issue and insert a patch file

2 Likes

Dont forget about 1-3 :slight_smile:

This is actually the standard in things like pacman:

The package selection is specified using a space- and/or comma-separated list of package numbers.