PacUI: Bash script providing advanced Pacman and Yay/Pikaur/Aurman/Pakku/Trizen/Pacaur functionality in a simple UI

cli
pacui
aur
pacman
yay

This topic is about all kinds of discussions about PacUI.

PacUI

PacUI provides useful and advanced Pacman and Yay/Pikaur/Aurman/Pakku/Trizen/Pacaur commands in a convenient and easy to use text interface.

PacUI is aimed at experienced/intermediate/advanced users of Arch Linux (and Arch-based distributions, including Manjaro), who have at least basic knowledge of their Linux system, Pacman and Yay/Pikaur/Aurman/Pakku/Trizen/Pacaur. Absolute beginners are probably overwhelmed by the choices PacUI offers.

This fork of an older version of pacli called PacUI follows the KISS principle: The whole script is contained within one file, which consists of easy to read bash code with many helpful comments. PacUI offers many more features over pacli in order to enhance comfort and speed of CLI based package management.

Table of Contents

Screenshots

UI of PacUI:

Installing the package “cantata” from system repositories by entering its name:

Installation

In Manjaro, you can simply install the stable version of PacUI:

sudo pacman -S pacui

Both the stable version and the latest git version of PacUI are available on the AUR:

yaourt -S pacui-git

This will install PacUI including the latest commits on Github. If you ever encounter any bugs, please reinstall (and thereby update) PacUI with the this command and check whether the bug is still there before reporting it.

Execute without prior Installation

For a minimal working version of PacUI, please install its dependencies expac and fzf using Pacman first (if possible). Then, the PacUI file can be downloaded and run without prior installation:

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/excalibur1234/pacui/master/pacui
bash pacui/pacui

I find this feature of PacUI invaluable for fixing systems. Here are two examples: