Nvidia update issue

Hello everyone!

I am new to manjaro(to linux in general) and tinkering my way through. Recently I tried to update my system and this message:

Warning: installing nvidia-utils (465.31-1) breaks dependency ‘nvidia-utils=455.45.01’ required by linux59-nvidia
Add linux59-nvidia to remove

I ignored it and did the update anyways and i could never boot back i tried to update/delete some packages by booting with usb through chroot but nothing changed. Then I freshly installed manjaro again. Now I try to update my system and the same message pops up. What should i do?

Thanks for help!

P.S if you need more information please let me know ( and how to get that info ^^) Thanks!

Hello,

You have to switch the kernel to a supported one, the 5.9 is EOL=end of life for quite some time now, and you probably boot from it and now it fails, because there are no modules for 465 driver series …
From TTY, as your user, run this commands:
sudo mhwd-kernel -i linux510

reboot into it, and then run
sudo mhwd-kernel -r linux59

If required, install again the nvidia driver with:
sudo mhwd -a pci nonfree 0300

1 Like

after running this I get list of packages that needs an update, after I continue, I get the following message.

resolving dependencies…
looking for conflicting packages…
error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: installing nvidia-utils (465.31-1) breaks dependency ‘nvidia-utils=455.45.01’ required by linux59-nvidia

I am guessing that the kernel did not update so I did not proceed with this

as it will delete the current kernel? … what should I try?

Thanks!

Did you boot into kernel 5.10, because the OS should boot into the newest kernel you install. IF it did not do that, you might need to tell GRUB to start kernel 5.10, which might be a bit difficult.

There is a slight work-around to have grub show up at boot (if you like).
First open up a terminal and type in:
sudo nano /etc/default/grub
Provide your password.