NVIDIA Drivers Seem To Not Be Working

Hello,

Just updated my system through Pamac a few minutes ago, restarted, and was met with only a black screen and terminal to log in by pressing Ctrl + Alt + F2

GPU - GeForce GTX 1070
CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 2700X

I had a similar problem like this about a month ago, something to do with the NVIDIA drivers and the Kernel update. I was instructed to make sure I was using a kernel that was LTS or supported. I tried to apply that here but I had no luck, however I’m not even sure I even did it properly. I’m still pretty new to Linux so I really don’t know what I’m doing when it comes to this kinda stuff.

I checked to see what kernels were running on my system, and it said that I had linux414 and linux511.

I really don’t know what to do at this point. Also, I am afraid of this happening again, how would I prevent this from happening in the future?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello,

That kernel is EOL, only the rt is still active in MHWD.
From TTY run this commands:
sudo mhwd-kernel -i linux510
or
sudo mhwd-kernel -i linux513
if you prefer latest stable, not LTS kernel.
then
sudo mhwd -f -i pci video-nvidia
then to be sure run
sudo mhwd-gpu --setmod nvidia --setxorg /etc/X11/mhwd.d/nvidia.conf
reboot your system with
systemctl reboot

Report back how it goes.

1 Like

I installed linux513 kernel and it seems to have worked, but when I try the command:
it tells me Error: script failed! and it also says above that it could not satisfy dependencies.

You must have partial update. Please run:
sudo pacman-mirrors -f5 && sudo pacman -Syyu
then run that command again to install the driver.

I ran the command
and it went through, however it still gives me the error message when it input

really weird … so, booting the 5.13 kernel still didn’t give you access to your desktop?

It did not, linux513 is definitly the kernel that is running, and this command:
Seemed to have installed everything perfectly.