Nvidia 1060 6gb - stuttering on proprietary drivers when secondary display connected and disabled

Hey guys!
I've been using Manjaro for around 3 months now, and I am very pleased all in all!

Currently my only problem is this:
I've had my PC freeze completely, where only a hard reset does the job.
I pinpointed it to the graphics (due to the way the LEDs on the card change after such a reboot) and further to the drivers (as I've been running a stable windows 10 installation for the past year on the card without it crashing on me).

I suspected the infamous Nouveau driver, and so I went through the guide posted here in order to set up the proprietary driver.

Instantly I saw improvement in boot time and the display looks overall more crisp (or it might just be placebo).

And now for the problem:
The display shows clear signs of stuttering about once every second. This is most noticeable when moving the cursor around, but anything on the screen will do a little stutter at the same time.

I've had this exact same problem a while back when I tried to install ArchLinux, and after three failed attempts at configuring the drivers I decided to go for Manjaro which seemed to work out of the box.

Any help or advice would be really appreciated!

EDIT:
I forgot to mention one thing - I had a secondary display connected via HDMI which is usually kept turned off (I use it for movie watching on windows only) and I kept it disabled in the settings.
After trying anything I could find online (composer, pipeline, etc.) I came across this and one of the comments was about the secondary display. After reading it, I plucked the HDMI out, leaving just my main monitor on DVI, and the problem instantly diapered.

I can't call it solved, as I would much rather not have to pluck out/reconnect the HDMI all the time, but I have no idea where to start with fixing it permanently. Any advice would be appreciated!

smelled really bad? :smirk: