Note to Linux Pros- Architect for Noobs

I'm a Linux newbie that is steadily making progress. I'd rate myself at roughly a 2.5 on a scale of 1 to 10 of Linux proficiency. I watch lots of "How to" Youtube videos and read lots of "How to" things on websites and in Wikis and forums. This is for the Linux Masters that make those videos and web pages or any high level Linux users helping newbies-
Please take a few moments to explain briefly why a user might want to choose or not choose each option (especially in "how to install x distro" videos/ webpages/ wikis). This is extremely important for relative noobs installing something like Manjaro Architect as a learning experience but applies to any installer or any kind of "how to do x". Almost every video having to do with Architect type installs uses an install onto a virtual machine as a demo. This is bad. The video maker all too often glosses over things the noob is desperate to learn about by skipping over things by saying "I'm on a VM so we can just skip this step". Experts, please try to remember what it was like to be a noob and try to think in terms of a teacher in a classroom and not just an IT pro talking to a slightly less experienced IT pro. There are many thousands of people that try to get into Linux by just installing it (and then adding to and modifying it) at home on an extra machine or dual-boot.
**Pop up tooltips that are a short paragraph with a brief description and why a person would want or not want to choose that option for EVERY line on the screen (every option and sub-option) in the Architect installer would make it a very powerful teaching tool.

1 Like

Not being a help request, moved from #newbies to #general-discussion

2 Likes

What can't even get users to read how to use the noob friendly installer or the wiki,
So its pointless with a advanced installer designed for advanced users in mind, as most users refuse to learn and to read anyway.

7 Likes