How to remove AUR packages? Are they good to have, are they a burden to keep?

I thought there would be a big update after Manjaro install. I did not find a big one like I was expecting, and used a AUR command and I think it installed a 1.7g Arch package. (don’t know zsh konsole very well, I am new to Manjaro) I would like to uninstall this package, if it is not needed. (I don’t know the package name I want to remove) I’m thinking of using this cmd … pacman -R (package name) … Is it safe to keep? Is it safe to remove? EDIT:(summation after) I got confused by the sudo pacman -Syu & -Ssyu not doing a large upgrade after a fresh install. It did do the upgrade in the terminal correctly. I thought that a update was triggered in konsole by sudo pamac upgrade aur; but there are no packages there to upgrade. Now I have a better understanding about, updating, pacman, yay, aur, and wiki, thank you.

I tried to read this really hard…at start i thought you should be better to stick to windows…
I have no idea what you want to do…you too :slight_smile:
Yay is an aur helper. You can install or deinstall at will. But first learn what packages and AUR is.

1 Like

yay is not 1.7 GiB.

2 Likes

The profile says using linux for 2 years, but the difference between installing a single package and doing a full system update seems not very clear.

I’m trying to figure out the AUR package name(s).

well there was some confusion jumping from bash to zsh. I was not used to installing using zsh. I should of been more clear. Maybe my question was a bad idea.

I want to (maybe) uninstall a AUR package, but I don’t know the name of the package. I would like to know if it is worth keeping and if it would create any troubles with kernel upgrades and shim with nvidia proprietary.

I was trying to figure out using zsh cmds, I have been using bash.

The used shell has nothing to do with updates, or aur helpers, or video drivers.
I think you should go back to basics. Maybe with ubuntu.

2 Likes