New user, a bit overwhelmed, seeking advice

I'm a windows user since 1999. I'm looking to make the switch to Linux, to get away from the dumpster fire that is Windows. But I'm finding it difficult to actually land on a distro. I've decided that I for sure want to use KDE. I'm just not a fan of the others, but I really like the Plasma DE. Stability is paramount for me since I am a professional writer and illustrator, and my paycheck essentially comes from work I do in my OS. Like so many of you here.

I'm going to be using Libre office, Gimp, and Krita. But what I can't have, is some kind of crash or hard lock in the middle of work. Cause maybe I've been writing for 3 or 4 hours when it happens, and then I lose that much work. We all forget to hit the save button sometimes. Unless those programs have an autosave feature I'm unaware of? That would be awesome and then I wouldn't need to worry so much about the stability of my OS. Maybe it would save every 5 minutes or something like that. I'll be switching over from M$ office and Photoshop, to these FOSS alternatives. It looks to me like they'll do what I need just fine.

Anyway if I can't get some form of autosave, then I need stability. So I'm wondering if I should just use Debian stable instead, with Plasma DE. I've been reading the forum a bit and it looks like you have some people who have been using Manjaro (stable) for years and have never had any problems. Then other people who had an update that somehow managed to uninstall all the Kernels. That would be bad news for me. I've already installed Manjaro on a spare computer and set up Timeshift to take system snapshots once a day.