New install and just got dual displays

I used the settings to configure my dual displays, but i noticed the highest refresh rate was 120hz? Is there a way to configure my monitor 1 to it’s 165hz and my other display to 144hz? Wish this was in the gui, but i guess I will have to use command line. Please let me know if this is something that’s been resolved previously, after I am a noob.:grimacing:

Are you using DisplayPort or HDMI? You should be using DisplayPort. Technically HDMI 2.1 works too, if both your monitor and cable supports it, but simpler to use DisplayPort. If you’re using HDMI → DisplayPort adapter, I believe it only supports up to 120hz as well.

And is your monitor a 165hz monitor? Some 165hz monitors don’t have that option until you go into the monitor’s settings and turn on the overclock from 144hz to 165hz.

2 Likes

Thanks I’ll definitely look into that. I’m pretty sure they are hdmi 2.0s but i wanted to switch because I saw mass effect modding tools had finally moved to Linux. So in other words if I get the correct cables to do the job then Manjaro should pop up options for higher refresh rates?

HDMI 2.0 should theoretically support up to 1080p @ 240hz, 1440p @ 144hz, 4K @ 60hz.

HDMI 2.1 supports up to 1440p @ 240hz, 4K @ 144hz

Theoretically, yes. Not going to promise it’ll work 100% though. I had the same issue before with HDMI cables, so I just swapped everything to DisplayPort.

2 Likes

Linus Tech Tip on YouTube just did a review on video cables. You might want to check it out and make sure you get cables capable of supporting your high refresh rate monitors. There’s a lot of junk sold on Amazon and eBay.

1 Like

Alright a thanks all of you! I really want to ditch windows, but i just wish basic configurations didn’t go to the command line every time. How did you people get to a point where you beat the learning curve? Do you know any channels that cover the Manjaro basics that is not 5 or so years old?

1 Like