My Manjaro Machine: 1 year anniversary.

Hello everybody. So, one of my computers has been running Manjaro for about a year now, and I wanted to go ahead and share my experience so far and what I do with the distro. At the start, it was rough for me. I was a complete linux noob with a huge amount of confidence coming from Mint. I had my fair share of problems at the start, albeit 100% my fault. (A huge thank you to this forum for guiding me through those issues). I won't go into detail, but, after starting with gnome and ultimately settling on cinnamon, I consider Manjaro to be one of my favorite distros!

I have had no issues with stability or updates to date and everything on the OS works well. I enjoy pacman and its companion pamac very much. The whole package management system is direct, clear, and useful. I have recently enabled AUR support and have built select applications quickly and without issue. But most importantly, I can do daily tasks with Manjaro without worry. Firefox works flawlessly, I do everything from schoolwork (LibreOffice does good here, too) to Netflix streaming. The OS never lags, freezes, or crashes. Updates are done quickly and do not disturb me while I am working or playing.

All in all it's been a great year with Manjaro and I have a learned a lot about Linux and computers courtesy of this distro. I also enjoy the polite and positive community and I look forward to using Manjaro for many more years to come. I can honestly see this OS getting a huge amount of support in the future. Cheers!

20 Likes

Almost 6 months for me here! No regrets! Installed on other computers since! Glad your expierience has been awesome!

3 Likes

Congratulations on your anniversary! Hopefully you'll have many, many more.

My 4 year anniversary of my 1st Manjaro install (desktop) is coming up in June. It's been pretty much trouble free; a small hiccup here and there, but no real breakages. Most of the hiccups were related to the early days of Plasma 5.