Cannot boot with 20-amdgpu.conf present in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/

I am new to linux and I want to enable VRR. This has worked in the past but lately linux hangs on boot if the 20-amdgpu.conf file is present. Contents are:

Section “Device”
Identifier “AMD”
MatchDriver “amdgpu”
Driver “amdgpu”
Option “VariableRefresh” “true”
Option “TearFree” “true”
EndSection

If I change “Device” to “OutputClass”, I can boot but it seems the settings are not applied.

xrandr --props shows all video ports as not vrr-capable.

I will gladly provide any needed logs, but I need guidance on how to pull them.

Thanks in advance!

Should be like this according to AMDGPU - ArchWiki :

Section "OutputClass"
     Identifier "AMD"
     MatchDriver "amdgpu"
     Driver "amdgpu"
     Option "TearFree" "true"
     Option "VariableRefresh" "true"
     Option "AsyncFlipSecondaries" "true" #multimonitor setup, but at least one is not FreeSync capable
EndSection

But, do you have a monitor that is in this list https://www.amd.com/en/products/freesync-monitors
What kernel are you using?

Hi Bogdan!

I have a Samsung QN90A TV which has previously worked using VRR with this exact PC using manjaro. Back then, it was 4K@120 VRR via HDMI, and it looked bad because the AMD drivers don’t support HDMI 2.1 in linux - but it worked. This was last October, I don’t remember which kernel I was on, but generally I was always on the latest recommended kernel.

Now I am using kernel 6.1.25-1.

I changed my file to match your text and rebooted, but running xrandr --props still returns all display outs of my GPU as “vrr_capable 0”. I believe this indicates merely the capabilities of the GPU and not the TV, correct? So somehow my linux thinks my GPU can’t handle VRR. How can I change that?

Hey,

Not very knowledgeable about AMD GPU’s, but did you tried to add with the amdgpu.freesync_video=1 kernel parameter and see next reboot? Have you tried different kernel also?