My `protopage.com` startpage crashes all browsers

This is very likely not a problem with Manjaro.

I have a startpage at protopage.com that I have been using for many years now as a replacement for iGoogle when that was killed by Google.

For the last three or so days, my default web browser, firefox crashed whenever I clicked on any link in my startpage. Scores of tab crash reports have been sent to firefox. The page was rock stable prior to that.

I then tried loading the same page with chromium and with microsoft-edge-dev and on both occasions, the page refused to load. chromium gave an Error code: SIGSEGV.

What would members of this forum suggest?

How might I better troubleshoot this problem to pinpoint the cause? Should I contact protopage.com or should I try fashioning a new startpage?

Thanks.

Hi @chandra,

I suggest you see if it keeps happening when using a different, clean profile.

If that doesn’t work, try creating the new page as you suggested.

If that still doesn’t work try the same in Chromium, Vivaldi, Brave, Falkon, and/or any others.

That ought to help you to narrow down the cause, or perhaps even find it and fix it.

Hope this helps!

Have you tried without any extensions, especially ad-block extensions?

In case you can’t get it sorted out, this site offers a similar service:

I have tried with a new firefox profile and that was of no avail.

Different browsers also do not help.

My suspicion is this might be a GTK/Plasma mismatch: the theme Breeze-Dark is now missing from the Configure GNOME/GTK Application Style options in KDEsettings.

Software, other than web browsers, seems to work without problems.

FWIW, one last suspicion: the first sign that something is amiss is the loss of the cursor (not visible) as would happen twenty years ago with X11 when graphics problems arose.

I did a firefox refresh (disables extensions, customizations, themes) as advised on the Web and the problem still persists.