Manjaro won’t boot with Radeon 5700XT

I can’t provide much info up front as I would have to pipe it to a file, swap hardware, and reboot every time (or transcribe by hand) but i will do so for anything you guys need on request.

My PC currently has a Ryzen 5 2400G in it. When graphics output is through my motherboard, everything works buttery smooth and lovely. As soon as I move the hdmi cable to the GPU and reboot, though, it gets to the end of boot just fine, then never starts my display manager. Just sits at the end of boot. Quick tapping the power button powers off cleanly just fine as I’d expect from a working machine, I can get myself into a tty just fine with ctrl-alt-f2. The only problematic thing I see in the boot printout is at the very beginning: I get an “unable to write to IOMMU perf counter” and then a bunch of APCI ERRORs: Aborting method due to previous error. It’s highly possible I’m just doing something stupid here- this is my first time trying to use a dedicated GPU, and I don’t really know what I’m doing.

What kernel are you on?

Shoot that should’ve been one of the first things I said, sorry. I’ve tried on 4.19 and 5.2. I’m on testing branch, both fully updated.

IDK how true this is but:

The official AMDGPU 19.30 driver package (i.e. from AMD itself) only supports Ubuntu 18.04.2 LTS, while solid widespread support for the RX 5700 cards won't arrive until MESA 19.3. However, development is moving very quickly on this.

We are on MESA 19.1.2-1 in stable.

I've actually been thinking about buying a Radeon RX 5700 XT myself for gaming. But I've found that AMD didn't really have day 1 Linux support for some reason for this card. I was doing a lot of research today on it.

This is why I recommend people to never buy brand new hardware until a month or two has passed for driver support (on both Windows & Linux).

https://linuxreviews.org/AMD_RX_5700_and_5700_XT_GPUs_launching_with_No_Linux_Support

https://www.mesa3d.org/release-calendar.html