Manjaro-openrc will be discontinued

openrc
artix

Hi openrc users,

I am sad to inform you, that Manjaro openrc will be discontinued, won’t receive updates any longer.

You might think that is bad news, but it really isn’t, since openrc and non systemd moved to its own distro called Artix Linux.

More detail to come, we are currently working on home page. Transition instructions to convert your Manjaro into Artix are below.

First information can be found here.

Our upstream source is hosted here, and the repos and iso here.

Our forum can be visited her:
http://artixlinux.org/forum/

Manjaro OpenRC 17.0.2 Xfce ISO
Total Noob is Manjaro 'Sys D Free' i.e Int Based?
[Stable Update] 2017-08-10 - Kernels, LibreOffice, Systemd, VirtualBox
[Testing Update] 2017-09-06 - Linux Tools, PulseAudio, QEmu, Calamares
[Stable Update] 2017-09-16 - Kernels, Mesa, VirtualBox, Pamac, KDE, GCC, Removal of OpenRC
[Solved]Strange Orphans in Yaourt
Indonesia: Manjaro itu nama yang menarik Mang Jaro (dialek Sunda) kah?
Failed to execute init (error -2) kernel panic after latest update

This sounds like a good idea.

One distro trying to support both represents an excessive burden, and prevents specialization, making technical correctness harder.

Its nice to see it as a layer on top of Manjaro which is a layer on top of Arch. That should yield the best of both/three worlds.

Hopefully the switch can be made smoother as time progresses. The methodology seems a little risky at present. A tool like Manjaro Settings Manager would be cool, but probably beyond scope for now.

sniff :crying_cat_face:
…hope…

…so just to clarify…
The steps listed in the news page are what needs to be done to migrate?
Please confirm.

12 posts were merged into an existing topic: [Official rant topic] Criticism of Manjaro dropping (splitting off) OpenRC

So if we don’t substitute repos our installation will eventually break with Manjaro updates and nobody will be producing patches.