/dev folder is not showing many icons

Hey guys I’m new to linux and I installed Manjaro KDE edition and I have been using it for some time. But yesterday I noticed a bug or something that really annoyed me i.e, in /dev folder some of the icons are not being displayed like when I open /dev folder or any other folder in /dev many of the icons are not displayed. But there is no such problem in other folders it is only in /dev and the folders it is containing. I am running the default theme btw. Is there any thing I am doing wrong ? I have posted screenshot for reference.
![Screenshot_20201115_180339|690x388] (upload://2EJaACcLEpEWP9H7WcZwP9ZZXgo.png) ![Screenshot_20201115_180559|690x388] (upload://n1Hc6r2VRUbNchOic70w1olPCCM.png)

Welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

First of all, you shouldn’t concern yourself with icon visibility on account of anything under /dev. The contents of that directory (“folder”) live in virtual memory, not on your fixed drive.

The files in /dev are all so-called device special files, which means that although they appear as filesystem objects and can be read from or written to ─ with the proper permissions ─ they are actually an abstraction layer between userspace and the hardware. As such, applications and userspace processes can ─ again, if they have the proper permissions ─ read from or write to the hardware directly.

GNU/Linux is a UNIX operating system, and in UNIX, everything is treated as a file, and every file is actually only a stream of bytes.

Likewise, you will find similar graphical oddities when perusing /proc and /sys, which are both interfaces to the kernel, represented to userspace as filesystems, but their contents are actually virtual, as opposed to /dev, whose contents do live in virtual memory ─ i.e. RAM and/or swap ─ but which contains actual files, even though they are a special type of files, as I explained higher up.