Manjaro for a custom RK3566 board (Radxa CM3)

Hi, I’m new by the way. :slight_smile:

As a hardware-oriented engineer I lack experience with software side of things, so I’d appreciate any hints on the following topic.

I’m building a custom device with Radxa CM3, a RK3566 “Compute Module” and I’m almost done with a prototype design. What I’m hoping to achieve is to drive a e-ink display with RK’s built-in EBC controller. This has already been done with PineNote, so I reckon this must be possible.

As far as my understanding goes, I may need to compile a kernel with a few additional modules. I will also need to craft my own device tree bindings. I’ve never done any of that, but I guess it can’t be that hard once I put my hands on an example or template of some sort. I was thinking that maybe I could base my work on existing support of SOquartz (Also RK3566) or Radxa 3A (RK3568).

At this point I’d like to mention that I’m not aiming at the “official Manjaro support” of my hardware, because there’s ~0% chance anyone else will own it, even though it’s going to be open source.

I read the pinned entry about contributing to Manjaro ARM and looked into “profiles”, but there was much less data than I hoped for - no Kernel config, nor dtb source files, just SBC-specific post-installation scripts that I couldn’t find sources of either. Honestly I don’t know where to look for all that.

So, maybe one step at a time: How do I even start doing all this? I guess first I’ve got to have any Manjaro running on that SBC with at least Ethernet support and work from there?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Hello and welcome to the forum,

I think you should start by using the cm3 dts as base and add more nodes to it.

Yes this is to make Manjaro Images for the devices which does not get official releases.

All this is done using PKGBUILD which you can learn about from Arch Wiki
For Manjaro ARM Pkgs source you can look here