Maintenance and cleaning of système

Hello. Please, I'm new to manjaro xfce and linux. My question is what is an application or procedure of maintenance and cleaning of systems like for example c cleaner?
Do we need system cleaning on linux?

The following commands run in a terminal will sync, update and clean your system. The fstrim command trims SSD's only, which is crucial for their daily maintenance.

sudo pacman -Sy

sudo pacman -Syu

sudo pacman-mirrors --fasttrack 5 && sudo pacman -Syyu (once a month or so)

sudo paccache -rvk3 (this deletes all but retains 3 caches packages

sudo pacman -Qdtq (if it returns a list of packages, they're orphaned packages, run below the command to autoremove)

sudo pacman -Qdtq | sudo pacman -Rs -

sudo fstrim -v / 

sudo fstrim -v /home

Bleachbit: sudo pacman -S bleachbit a generic GUI cleaner, old school enthusiasts compare it to a wrecking ball. So use with care and prudence.

:wink:

5 Likes

https://wiki.manjaro.org/System_Maintenance

If you are new to Linux and Manjaro, I recommend you to use Pamac GUI for all system maintenance. You can refresh database, clear cache, remove orphans if you really don't need them. Its user friendly and safe to use.

I wouldn't recommend Bleachbit, except you really have good experience, and know what to remove. Like @mack said, if you use it, use it with care and prudence. :slightly_smiling_face:

Welcome to Manjaro and Linux community. You will see, that Linux doesn't require that much maintenance, and need of many 3rd party applications to keep it "clean".

2 Likes

Please dont do this unless you really really have some specific reason.
Its also rendered redundant if followed by the (more correct)
sudo pacman -Syu

This is probably not a great idea as it takes no user input and just removes all packages deemed 'orphans'. That doesnt necessarilly mean you dont want them. (also .. you may wish to use Rns for removing packages)