Lost in Changelogs

I hope you can help me better understand the flow of changelogs.

Today we have again a small update for manjaro and it is a single package:

powerdevil-5.15.2-2

hopefull I ran pacman -Qc powerdevil to get the changelog. But as so often it did not show any.

So first question: Is there a general way to get to the changelog? Or is this an individual hunt for each package? I would even be willing to consider a code diff a changelog in this case.

Second question: If this is not possible. Which I fear is the case.
How is the process. Where does the change log get lost. I assume that there always is one initially set by the developers. I don’t want to play the blame game. I want to know if maybe I can put some effort into developing a tool to automate getting this. I think this would be a worthwhile improvement.

I am still relatively new to Linux so my understanding of the workings behind the curtain is still very limited.

it was a stability fix, powerdevil was crashing. it got fast-tracked so the changelog may not have been dealt with. either way, you need it :wink:

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=403776#c20

1 Like

No doubt. I installed right away. This is also not about being “selective” as I don’t think it is wise to leave the default path more than absolutely necessary under Linux.

It is about being curious what cool features I got, or which quirks might finally be gone.

Thank you for the link. It shows that there is a change log, as I assumed. So normally I would expect
pacman -Qc powerdevil to return at least
“Fix crash (FS#61926)”

running pacman -Qc returns a changelog for only 1 in a hundred packages. So obviously this feature is not really delt with at all. Can’t this be automated somehow, to get the changelogs, when providing the updates?

Add me.