Lightzone installation

Im new to manjaro although being dealing with other linus distros more than 10 years. I really like it and just missed my prefered photo editing software, Lightzone. Found there is updated maintainned aur.archlinux Try to install it but Im not familiar with building this. Could anyone pls guide me to do it, step by step, like a I was a moron

Welcome to the forum! :wave:

Start here: Arch User Repository - Manjaro

many thanks, got an error
BUILD FAILED
/home/bruno/lightzone/src/LightZone-4.2.3/linux/build.xml:37: The following error occurred while executing this line:
/home/bruno/lightzone/src/LightZone-4.2.3/lightcrafts/build.xml:129: exec returned: 2

Welcome!

Sorry for asking, but how are you installing lightzone and which package are you opting for?

Try from the terminal with the command:
pamac install lightzone

T+ = See you later

The log you provided wasn’t really the whole error message, so I gave it a shot myself.
Got the same error, but were able to figure it out;
pamac install jdk-openjdk then try again, and it should work.

But when installing lightzone from pamac it no longer informed you of the necessary dependencies

T+ = See you later

I originally tried it on a VM running the stable branch (using pamac-manager, not cli) and weren’t informed of any missing or necessary dependencies. When trying it on my production machine running the unstable branch, I get a choice in both cli and gui:

Choose a provider for java-environment:
1:  jdk-openjdk    16.0.1.u9-1      extra
2:  jdk11-openjdk  11.0.11.u9-1     extra
3:  jdk7-openjdk   7.u261_2.6.22-1  extra
4:  jdk8-openjdk   8.u292-1         extra

Builds fine on both using jdk-openjdk.

Yes pamac-gtk shows yes, the necessary dependencies

Click on the image to enlarge

As well as the pamac-cli

T+ = See you later

Please post the full build log. Since it could be fairly long, please use a pastebin service and link it here.

1 Like