LXD needs vhost_vsock

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Manjaro. I was searching for a distro to learn for my test laptop and so I stumbled over Majaro through distrowatch. It’s really great, I love it!

Due to new challenges in my daily work I try to learn new things, specially virtualization. At the moment I try to get lxd running on my laptop, which succeeds only partially. I can create a container with whatever distro I want, however, I can’t get a virtual machine.

This is what happens:

> lxc launch images:debian/10 felix --vm
Error: Failed instance creation: Failed creating instance record: Instance type "virtual-machine" is not supported on this server

I posted a question at the discussion forum at Linuxcontainers and a maintainer answered that lxd needs kvm and vhost_vsock to work properly.
Now, kvm won’t be a problem, /dev/kvm is present and the kernel module is loaded:

> sudo lsmod | sort | grep kvm
kvm                   921600  1 kvm_intel
kvm_intel             323584  0

But what’s still missing is vhost_vsock. I tried to find it under /lib/modules, even installed linux510-headers, but no success so far. So, is there anyone out there who made lxd working with virtual machines? If yes, please provide me some hints whatever you tried to get this done.

Many thanks in advance, regards, Thomas

You don’t need to worry about this module. ( See modinfo vhost_vsock )

Yes but, LXD is not as simple on Arch or Manjaro as on Ubuntu. Setting up libvirt or similar is a lot easier.

However, you need to start to read the Arch Wiki. Pay special attention to the setup section.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/LXD

Did you go thru the setup steps and did you installed all the optional dependencies required for the VM part of LXD?

Also I just noticed, LXD is not completely compatible with QEMU 6. So it might not work.

Hi there,