Kernel update on Pinephone, Manjaro/Phosh

Hi, I want to update my kernel but I don’t have a kernel section in the Manjaro Setting Manager. I downloaded the new kernel “linux-5.12.8.tar.gz” from kernel/git/stable/linux.git - Linux kernel stable tree but I can’t find a way to install it.
I have the latest updates installed but there was no kernel update. I’m new to Manjaro but long time Ubuntu user, where I get my kernel updates with all the other updates. I tried “sudo pacman -Syyu”. It gives me “:: synchronizing package databases… :: Starting full system upgrade… there is nothing to do”.
Is there a proper way to install it from the Archive Manager or the Terminal? Thanks!

edit: my kernel is 5.12.3-1-MANJARO-ARM

Welcome to the forum! :wink:

It is no different in Manjaro, but you are getting that message because a new kernel generation is added to the repos.

So for instance, if you are running ─ say ─ 5.4 and there is a major update again, then your 5.4 kernel will be updated to the newest of the 5.4 branch along with the rest of the system, but if in the meantime 5.13 was added to the repo, then you’ll get a notice about that, but you will never be forced to upgrade to 5.13 ─ not even if your current kernel is EOL; instead, you’ll simply get a warning about that at the next major update.

Also, if you’re updating via the command line, then the command to install the new kernel generation is not pacman but…

sudo mhwd-kernel -i linux513

… or whatever kernel version is applicable. mhwd-kernel not only installs the new kernel, but also all of its dependencies, including the kernel headers and any proprietary drivers.

1 Like