Kdenlive icon missing in startmenu

Hello,

After updating with Octopi on August 17th, the Kdenlive icon is missing in the startmenu. Only the text is shown. I am quite sure that the icon was there after my previous update on July 14th, since Kdenlive is one of my standard test applications after updating to see if graphic performance is still OK. Because I pinned Kdenlive (added to favorites), it doesn’t show up at all in the left column of the startmenu, just because I know that it is there, I can click on the invisible icon and stat Kdenlive. I use “Application menu”.

I Use kernel 4.19.138-1, KDE Plasma 5.19.4, KDE Framework 5.73.0, global theme Breath2 (automatically activated in May, since Breath was phased out).

I have no clue if this is a bug and if I should wait for another update. I have no knowledge of the linux filesystem so I don’t know where to look.
I tried right-click on Start, Edit Applications, then in the KDE Menu editor open Multimedia.
There is Kdenlive, with the familliar icon. I click on Kdnlive to edit it, there is the icon button with the correct icon. I click on that and in the Icon source window that appears I can browse to the kdenlive icon and (re)select it. Then back in the KDE Menu editor click save.
Still no icon in the menu.

Regards,
Han

This is probably due to an oversight in the composition of the icon theme ─ it happens in virtually all icon themes at some point, usually after an update, and with different icons missing between the different themes.

You can temporarily remedy the problem by installing one of the alternative icon themes, either from the repository, from the AUR, or from store.kde.org.

:man_shrugging:

Thanks for the reply.
I will wait until it is noticed and fixed then, instead of messing with icon themes.
I am a real linux user and don’t want to deviate from the distro to avoid problems in the future.

I did however look around as you mentioned “icon theme”, looked in System settings, Appearance, Icons.